Acute Myeloid Leukemia: Increasing Complexity and Increasing Treatment Opportunities

Acute myeloid leukemia is actually several different diseases with different treatment options.

Printer-friendly versionPDF version Registration Coming Soon
Undefined
Thursday, October 14, 2021

Acute Myeloid Leukemia: Increasing Complexity and Increasing Treatment Opportunities

Thursday, October 14, 2021 

Time:  1:00 pm Eastern, Noon Central, 11:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Pacific

Presenter:  Mark Litzow MD, Professor of Medicine and Head of the Acute Leukemia Group, Mayo Clinic in Rochester

Acute myeloid leukemia (AML) is a cancer of the blood and bone marrow - the spongy tissue inside bones where blood cells are made. In AML, genetic changes in bone marrow cells cause blood cell production to get out of control, creating too many immature blood cells that crowd out healthy cells in the bone marrow.

An estimated 20,000 new cases of AML are diagnosed in the U.S. each year, mostly in adults.

The recommended therapy for AML will depend on the sub-type of the patient's disease.  Some patients can be cured by chemotherapy alone, while for others, a stem cell transplant is the only cure.

As researchers learn more about what causes AML, new treatment options are emerging.  

What you will learn:

  • new, targeted drug therapies for patients with AML
  • immunotherapies that boost the immune system's power to fight AML 
  • who is a candidate for each of these therapies
  • potential risks and side effects
  • effectiveness of new therapies in curing patients with AML

Bring your questions!

The webinar is free, but advance registration is required.  All you will need to participate is a computer, smart phone or other electronic device.

About the Speaker

Dr. Mark Litzow is a Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic.  He served as the head of the Acute Leukemia and Myeloid Neoplasm Group at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota for 12 years and the director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant (BMT) Program at Mayo Clinic for 17 years and remains an active member of both programs. He is the chair of the Leukemia Committee of Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group and the American College of Radiology Imaging Network (ECOG-ACRIN) since 2013. He is also currently the co-chair of the Acute Leukemia Working Committee for the Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplant Research.  He just completed an eight year term as chair of the Committee on Education for the American Society for Transplantation and Cellular Therapy.

Dr. Litzow's research interests include clinical trials for acute and chronic leukemia, including blood and marrow transplantation and supportive care for transplant patients. His efforts have contributed to improvements in outcomes for patients with leukemia and to improved survival of patients after blood and marrow transplantation.

Many thanks to Syndax whose unrestricted educational grant, in part, made of this event possible.