Live Your Best Life: How to Manage Fatigue and Adapt Routines to Maximize Quality of Life with GVHD

Graft-versus-Host Disease (GVHD) can make daily activities difficult. Learn how to overcome this challenge.

Printer-friendly versionPDF version Registration Coming Soon
Undefined
Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Live Your Best Life: How to Manage Fatigue and Adapt Routines to Maximize Quality of Life with GVHD

Presenter: Carly Cappozzo, MSOT, OTR/L, Senior Occupational Therapist, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center​

Date and Time:  Wednesday, December 9, 2020    7:30 PM Eastern, 6:30 PM Central, 5:30 PM Mountain, 4:30 PM Pacific

What you will learn:

  1. How occupational therapy can help improve your independence and quality of life
  2. The relationship between activity engagement, fatigue levels, and mood
  3. Specific strategies for maximal engagement in meaningful activities and quality of life, including lifestyle redesign, fatigue management, behavioral activation, and/or adaptive equipment

Meet the Speaker:  Carly Cappozzo, MSOT, OTR/L

Carly Cappozzo is a Senior Occupational Therapist at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. She developed MD Anderson's first chronic Graft-versus-Host Disease (GVHD) rehabilitation program in conjunction with one of the world's leading stem cell transplant and chronic GVHD physicians, and she collaborates with a multi-disciplinary team of GVHD specialists each week to evaluate and treat GVHD patients from around the world. Ms. Cappozzo has a passion for holistic therapy interventions which build upon a patient’s unique strengths, interests, and goals. Using this information, she collaborates with her patients to design innovative strategies and solutions to allow patients to be successful with the activities and roles that matter most.