Transplantation for Myelodysplastic Syndromes: What, When and How

If you have myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS), should you have a stem cell transplant?

Printer-friendly versionPDF version Registration Coming Soon
Undefined
Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Transplantation for Myelodysplastic Syndromes: Who, When and How? 

Date:  Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Time:  7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, 4 pm Pacific

Presenter:  Nandita Khera, MD, MPHCo-Chair of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trials Network Evidence into Practice Task Force 

Myelodysplastic syndrome is primarily a disease of older adults.  It is sometimes referred to as pre-leukemia because MDS often evolves into leukemia. 

MDS is classified as high-risk or low-risk, depending on the likelihood that it will become leukemia. While patients with low-risk MDS may not need a stem cell transplant, a transplant can improve both survival rates and quality of life for those with high-risk MDS.

What You Will Learn: 

  • the differences between low-risk and high-risk MDS
  • when it is appropriate to consider a stem cell transplant
  • the steps involved in going through a stem cell transplant
  • potential barriers to transplant and solutions for expanding access

Bring your questions!

The webinar is free, but advance registration is required.  All you will need to participate is a computer, smart phone or other electronic device.

About the Speaker

Dr. Nandita Khera is an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, and a Consultant in the Division of Hematology/Oncology at Mayo Clinic Arizona since 2011. Dr. Khera treats patients with hematological malignancies, especially those needing a blood stem cell or bone marrow transplant for their disease.

Her research focuses on improving the delivery of care to patients with cancer to help them be better prepared for the psychosocial and financial consequences of the treatment. She has published several papers in the area of outcomes, late effects and quality of care after transplant and has held leadership positions in the various organizations/societies in the field of hematology and blood and marrow transplant.

Dr. Khera was the Chair of an Advisory Group on Financial Barriers to Transplant, organized by the National Marrow Donor Program in 2018, and works closely with other stakeholders to help address issues relevant to access to and quality of care in hematopoietic cell transplantation (HCT).  She also co-chairs, with Dr. Linda Burns, the Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trials Network (BMT CTN) Evidence into Practice Task Force which is currently working on initiatives to help improve dissemination and implementation of data generated by the clinical trials in this field.