COVID-19 and Monkeypox: What Transplant and CAR T-cell Recipients Need to Know

Preventing infection after transplant or CAR T-cell therapy is important. Learn how to protect yourself against COVID-19 and Monkeypox this winter.

Printer-friendly versionPDF version Wednesday, November 16, 2022

CHANGE OF DATE

Covid-19 and Monkeypox:

What Transplant and CAR T-cell Recipients Need to Know

 
As we enter the winter months and spend more time indoors with others, it is important to know how to protect yourself against COVID-19 and monkeypox infections, and the steps you should take if you do become infected.
 

Wednesday, November 16th, 2022

6 pm Eastern, 5 pm Central, 4 pm Mountain, 3 pm Pacific

In this webinar you will learn:

  • who's at risk for developing a serious COVID-19 or Monkeypox infection
  • how to protect yourself again a serious infection
  • signs and symptoms of COVID-19 and Monkeypox to watch for
  • treatment options if you do become infected

Bring your questions!

The webinar is free, but advance registration is required.  All you will need to participate is a computer, smartphone, or another electronic device.

About the Speaker 

Dr. Shivan Shah is an onco-transplant infectious disease physician at Houston Methodist Hospital where he works with the oncology and stem cell transplant teams to treat patients who have various oncology- or transplant-related infections. He previously trained at MD Anderson Cancer Center where he helped develop protocols to treat opportunistic infections. 

Dr. Shah’s clinical interests include onco-transplant infections, infections in leukemia/lymphoma, respiratory infections and travel medicine.